Public Notice

Public Notice

Information About New Flood Maps and Flood Ordinance Changes


Brunswick County is considering adopting new flood maps and amending the County’s Flood Damage Prevention Ordinance, to participate in the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).

FEMA regularly updates Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRMs) using studies to improve the maps and ensure their accuracy. The last maps FEMA approved for our area were adopted in 2006; since then, FEMA has worked to study and improve these maps. Now that FEMA has approved updated maps, Brunswick County can adopt them and continue to participate in the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).

To view the current effective maps or the preliminary maps on the State’s website, visit the Flood Risk Information System (FRIS) – Flood Maps, which will automatically show the current effective maps. To view the preliminary maps, in the top right corner of the page, click on “Effective” and change to “Preliminary.” This will allow the viewer to see the maps being adopted on August 28, 2018.

Brunswick County will be scheduling a public hearing about these changes, and a public informational workshop will be held on July 10, 2018 at 6 p.m. in the County Commissioners Chambers, at 30 Government Center Drive in Bolivia, NC.

For more information about the proposed changes to the Flood Maps and the Flood Damage Prevention Ordinance, click here.

18 Appointed to Fire Commission

With the appointment of 18 new members at Monday’s Board of Commissioners meeting, Brunswick County’s Fire Commission is ready to move forward.

The Fire Commission, which was created June 19, includes 20 members made up of local officials, fire chiefs, and citizen appointees.

Among those appointed are Commissioner Pat Sykes, Commissioner Mike Forte, citizen appointees Carol Dunham, Len Henderson, Donna Loosley, Steven Barger and William D. Wilson, Ocean Isle Beach Fire Chief Robert Yoho, Supply Fire Chief William Bailey, Southport Fire Chief Charles Drew, Boiling Spring Lakes Fire Chief Teresa Tickle, Navassa Fire Chief Donnie Williams, Fire Chiefs Association President Doug Todd, Carolina Shores Mayor Joyce Dunn, Holden Beach Mayor Alan Holden, Oak Island Mayor Pro Tem Loman Scott, Shallotte Mayor Walt Eccard and Leland Mayor Brenda Bozeman.

Brunswick County’s Emergency Services Director also serves on the commission in a non-voting capacity. A sixth citizen member, this one at-large, will be appointed, joining the five citizen appointees representing each County district.

The Fire Commission is charged with making advisory recommendations to the Brunswick County Board of Commissioners on fire protection and emergency services, including recommendations for continuing improvement of the fire protection system, analysis of the current fire fee funding mechanism and recommendations for potential long-term funding solutions.