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Compliance Corner

NATIONAL

Top Three OSHA violations for the
calendar year 2011:

» Scaffolding, general requirements,
construction (29 CFR 1926.451)

» Fall protection, construction (29
CFR 1926.501)

» Hazard communication standard,
general industry (29 CFR
1910.1200)

STATE

Cell Phone Use for Drivers
Under 18 years of age:

Drivers younger than 18 are
prohibited from using a mobile
telephone while driving except in
the case of an emergency or
when talking to a parent or
spouse.

LOCAL

Road Closures and Delays:

In northern Brunswick County expect
lane closures throughout July to
accommodate repair and
maintenance work being performed
from Goodman Rd. to Memorial
Bridge.

Heat Stroke

Heat stroke is the most serious heat-
related disorder. It occurs when the
body becomes unable to control its
temperature: the body's temperature
rises rapidly, the sweating
mechanism fails, and the body is
unable to cool down. When heat
stroke occurs, the body temperature
can rise to 106 degrees Fahrenheit
or higher within 10 to 15 minutes.
Heat stroke can cause death or
permanent disability if emergency
treatment is not given.

Are you prepared?

Check out the list of symptoms and
first aid steps to treat a worker with

heat stroke symptoms. —)
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You know when you drive along North Carolina roads the law requires you to go the speed limit, wear your
seat belt and turn your headlights on at night. Other well know laws such as prohibiting driving while
impaired, are familiar. But you may not be aware of several other important laws that you must also abide
by as you travel for work and or pleasure.

Fender Bender Law - The "Fender Bender" law requires motorists to move their vehicles to the shoulder of
the road following minor, non-injury crashes. If you don’t follow the law, you could face a $110 fine and
court costs.

Move Over Law - Under the "Move Over" law, motorists are required to move over one lane, if possible, or
reduce speed for stopped emergency vehicles with flashing lights on the shoulder of the highway, including
public service vehicles with amber lights. Violating the law could result in a $500 fine.

Quick Clearance Law - The "Quick Clearance" law centers on getting vehicles out of the roadway. It states
that if law enforcement and NCDOT agree that a vehicle and its cargo pose a safety concern, they can move
it by any means necessary without facing any liability.

NC Litter Law - North Carolina law states it is illegal to dispose of litter on public or private property, unless
you own that property. If you violate the law, you could face fines up to $200 and community service work.

Cell Phone Use by Drivers Younger Than 18 - Drivers younger than 18 are prohibited from using a mobile
telephone while driving except in the case of an emergency or when talking to a parent or spouse.

Symptoms of Heat Stroke/Heat Exhaustion First Aid Steps for Heat Stroke Victims

Headaches, dizziness, light-headedness or fainting.
Dry, hot skin with no sweating.

Weakness and moist skin.

Mental confusion or losing consciousness.

Mood changes, irrita h ility, confusion.

Seizures or convulsions. ——
Upset stomach, v

Call 911 and notify their supervisor.

Move the sick worker to a cool shaded area.
Cool the worker using methods such as:
Soaking their clothes with water.

Spraying, sponging, or showering them with
water.

Fanning their body.

* 2.5 m|II|on - In July 1776, the estimated number of people living in the newly mdependentnatloni

* 313.9 million - The nation’s estimated population this Fourth of July, 2012. .

* $232.3 million dollars - The value of fireworks imported from China in 2011, representifig the bulk of all U. S 'flreworks |mported
* 546.2 million - Reasons why you should practice safety during the holiday!
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Trivia Contest

How often should you
perform a visual inspection of
your workplace?

To be eligible for the next
drawing, email your answers to:

safetyreviewboard@brunsco.net

Trivia Answer from last edition
Question:

What is the most recent change
to CDL regulations?

Answer:

Commercial drivers are
prohibited from using a hand-
held mobile telephone while
operating a commercial truck or
bus.

First Aid Kit Wellness

OSHA recommends the
following items in a first
aid kit for the workplace

1 absorbent compress
16 adhesive bandages

1 roll of adhesive tape
10 antiseptic wipes

6 burn treatment liquid
2 pr disposable gloves
4 sterile pads

1 triangular bandage

6 antibiotic treatments
1 first aid guide

Urgent Care Facilities for
S Worker’'s Comp Treatment

Brunswick County Health
Department Clinic

Bldg. A (in the cafeteria
courtyard)

(910) 253-2347

Oceanside Medical
(Shallotte)

5145 Sellers Ave.
(910) 754-4441

Dosher Medical Plaza
(Urgent Care)

4222 Long Beach Rd SE
(910) 269-2053

Wilmington Health
Associates

1333 S. Dickerson Dr.
(Brunswick Forest)
(910) 371-0404
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Safety Stats

Top 3 Most Frequent Causes of Injury for County Employees FY 2011-12

Injury By Cause # Of Claims Total Losses Average Cost Total Paid
Strain by Lifting 8 528,746 $3,593.25 $14,998.04
Slip or Fall 10 58,346 $834.60 $4,308.69
Struck by Animal or Insect 7 $1,851 $264.43 $1,851.87
Top 3 Most Frequently Injured Body Parts for County Employee FY 2011-12
Body Part # Of Claims % Frequency Total Losses Average Cost Total Paid
Lower Back 7 12% $33,303 $4,757.00 $17,308.00
Hand 10 17% $6,113 $611.00 $4,166.00
Knee 7 13% $890 $111.00 $897.00
Top 3 Most Frequent Days County Employees are Injured during FY 2011-12
Injury Date # Of Claims % Frequency Average Cost Total Paid
Wednesday 15 25% $379.00 $2,758.00
Friday 12 20% $1,769.00 $14,162.00
Tuesday 11 18% $498.00 $3,540.00

While reviewing the data surrounding employee injuries, we are given a learning opportunity. The data
points out lifting and slipping are the most common causes of accidents for employees. It also shows that
the middle of the week is when we experience most of our accidents. This information, we are given
another tool for working smarter not harder. Apply proper techniques or equipment for lifting; get a co-
worker to help where you can. Check housekeeping details by doing a visual inspection to minimize slips
and falls. And lastly, stay focused on safety to avoid complacency. Engineer out the hazards by not
performing tasks mechanically. Give yourself S.T.A.R. quality. Stop, Think, Act and Review in order to
have the best outcome for your safety!

Off The Wall Training..-

Take Away Tips...Personal Protective Equipment?

Post this on the wall for
everyone to see

Dressing for the workplace, by wearing the right kind of clothing helps protect you from injury. It is your first line of
defense against worksite hazards. Carefully choose your work clothing and the personal protective equipment which
will best protect you for your job. Improper clothing is an invitation for an accident to occur.

Protect your feet - Standard footwear for most industries, should be sturdy leather footwear. Preferably, boots
equipped with safety toes. Tennis shoes, offer little or no protection against worksite hazards.

Hand Protection - Gloves are inexpensive and easily available protection which guards against many hazards. They
protect hands from exposures ranging from chemical spills and cuts, to heat and cold. It is important to select the
proper kind and style of glove to effectively protect hands from the hazards that may be encountered.

Jewelry in the workplace can also be a hazard that is often overlooked. Rings, bracelets, and chains can be the cause
of a severe accident. Prevention should be the first consideration when wearing jewelry at work.

Head Protection and Eye Protection - Hard hats and safety glasses should be worn at the work site whenever there
is an overhead hazard or potential for an object to enter the eyes.

Simple as it may sound, you must dress for the occasion. Proper clothing is the key to protection from hazards while
you work. An excerpt taken from Toolbox Tips.

BRUNSWICK COUNTY SAFETY TRAINING CALENDAR

Month Level | Level Il Contact Name Contact#
Jul Personal Protective Equipment Personal Protective Equipment Ron Worthington ~ 612-2079

Ergonomics Respiratory-SCBA Fit Test/Hearing Eileen Gardner 253-2078
Aug Equipment Safety Hazard Communications & Safety Fred Michael 253-2298
Sept Hand Tool Safety Confined Spaces Ronald Moore 253-2680

Machine Guarding 253-2509

Bryan Hollis

Occupational Safety and Health Week was successful thanks to all the employees involved from preparation to
facilitation. The sessions held were informative and interactive. The training held this week improves performance and
productivity, reduces costs, and most importantly, sends employees home safely every night.

Email safetyreviewboard@brunsco.net to schedule your _




