Public Notice

Public Notice

Brunswick County statement in response to Environmental Working Group January 2020 report

01.22.2020

Brunswick County began an extensive testing program for PFAS contaminants when academic studies revealed the presence of multiple PFAS in its drinking water, testing a suite of PFAS contaminants on a weekly basis. Brunswick County’s water samples have continuously remained below the EPA’s established health advisory levels for PFOA + PFOS and the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services’ established provisional health goal for GenX, however the combined levels of all PFAS is concerning and the County continues to test and monitor for most known PFAS compounds and GenX during its routine testing.

At this time, the EPA does not have an established health goal for several of the other compounds listed in this report that are contributing to the overall 185.9 ppt sample level, however the PFOA + PFOS and GenX sample levels in this report are also below the provisional health goals mentioned above. Due to the fact that little or no study has been done on the health effects of combined PFAS or many of these individual PFAS found in the source water, Brunswick County has taken a proactive approach to install the most protective water treatment system at the Northwest Water Treatment Plant to remove these contaminants.

Brunswick County’s leadership recognizes that high quality water is of paramount importance to our customers and residents and agree that reverse osmosis is the most effective PFAS removal technology, which is why the Board of Commissioners and county administration are embarking on a project to install an advanced low-pressure reverse osmosis treatment system at the Northwest Water Treatment Plant, as well as increase capacity at the plant to support the county’s growth. Brunswick County Public Utilities has been working diligently with engineers at CDM-Smith and the North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality to design, permit and build an economical low-pressure reverse osmosis system at the plant for the benefit of all Brunswick County water users.

Low-pressure reverse osmosis is considered one of the most advanced and effective methods to treat and remove both regulated and unregulated materials from drinking water, including GenX, 1,4-dioxane and other per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS). In April 2018, the County conducted two rounds of testing on a pilot low-pressure reverse osmosis system at the Northwest Water Treatment Plant. The results showed that low-pressure reverse osmosis reduced most PFAS including GenX to undetectable levels, essentially removing all the components.

Not only do pilot studies indicate that low-pressure reverse osmosis is the most effective advanced treatment method for PFAS removal, but they also indicate that it is the most economical advanced treatment option for the removal of high percentages of PFAS at the Northwest Water Treatment Plant. Most previous studies focus on the high-energy cost when using reverse osmosis for the treatment of saline or brackish water, but the cost is considerably less when used to treat fresh water for PFAS contaminants, especially short-chain PFAS.

All of the County’s water sample test reports are available to the public at https://www.brunswickcountync.gov/genx/

Brunswick County would notify customers and residents should any of its test samples exceed the health advisory levels established for PFOA + PFOS or GenX.

Department Officials

Email Updates

County News

Public Records

Courthouse Records

Department Officials

To sort alphabetically by either name or title, click the arrow at the top of that column. Note: Clicking the image below will open it in a new window at its full size. You may then download the image by right clicking and selecting “Save Image As.”

Name
Title
Phone Number
Email
 
Sara Knotts
Board of Elections Director
910-253-2620
sara.knotts@brunswickcountync.gov
Sara Knotts
Jim Fish
Brunswick Senior Resources, Inc (BSRI) President/CEO
910-632-4600
jfish@bsrinc.org
Andrea White
Clerk to the Board
910-253-2017
boardclerk@brunswickcountync.gov
Andrea White
Bob Shaver
County Attorney
910-253-2400
bob.shaver@brunswickcountync.gov
Mark Blevins
County Cooperative Extension Director
910-253-2584
mark_blevins@ncsu.edu
Mark Blevins
Randell Woodruff
County Manager
910-253-2016
randell.woodruff@brunswickcountync.gov
Steve Stone
Deputy County Manager
910-253-2015
steve.stone@brunswickcountync.gov
Stone Stone
William (Bill) Pinnix
Engineering Services Director
910-253-2408
william.pinnix@brunswickcountync.gov
Julie Miller
Fiscal Operations Director
910-253-2067
julie.miller@brunswickcountync.gov
Edward (Ed) Conrow
Emergency Services Director
910-253-5383
edward.conrow@brunswickcountync.gov
Danny Thornton
Environmental Health Director
910-253-2252
danny.thornton@brunswickcountync.gov
David Stanley
Health & Human Services Executive Director
910-253-2274
david.stanley@brunswickcountync.gov
Cris Harrelson
Health Services Director
910-253-2298
cris.harrelson@brunswickcountync.gov
Cris Harrelson
Melanie Turrise
Human Resources Director
melanie.turrise@brunswickcountync.gov
Melanie Turrise
Maurice (Reecie) Tate
Library Director
910-278-4283
maurice.tate@brunswickcountync.gov
Steve Randone
MIS/Computer Services Director
910-253-2638
steve.randone@brunswickcountync.gov
Stephanie Lewis
Operation Services Director
910-253-2521
stephanie.lewis@brunswickcountync.gov
Stephanie Lewis
Aaron Perkins
Parks & Recreation Director
910-253-2676
aaron.perkins@brunswickcountync.gov
Aaron Perkins
Kirstie Dixon
Planning Services Director
910-253-2025
kirstie.dixon@brunswickcountync.gov
Kirstie Dixon
Meagan Kascsak
Public Information Officer
910-253-2995
meagan.kascsak@brunswickcountync.gov
John Nichols
Public Utilities Director
910-253-2659
john.nichols@brunswickcountync.gov
Catherine (Cathy) Lytch
Social Services Director
910-253-2113
catherine.lytch@brunswickcountync.gov
Mamie Caison
Soil & Water Conservation District Director
910-253-2832
mamie.caison@nc.nacdnet.net
Micki Bozeman
Solid Waste & Recycling Coordinator / Keep Brunswick County Beautiful Executive Director
910-253-2524
micki.bozeman@brunswickcountync.gov
Jeff Niebauer
Tax Administrator
910-253-2797
jeff.niebauer@brunswickcountync.gov
Jeff Brown
Vector Control Supervisor
(Mosquito Control)
910-253-2507
jeff.brown@brunswickcountync.gov
Anita Hartsell
Veteran Services Director
910-253-2232
anita.hartsell@brunswickcountync.gov

News & Events

Get the latest updates and happenings on events throughout the county.

Latest News

Read More Public Information News

Latest Events

See Event Calendar