Brunswick County recognized with N.C. Department of Labor Safety Awards


Brunswick County recognized with N.C. Department of Labor Safety Awards


BOLIVIA, N.C. – The N.C. Department of Labor (NCDOL) presented the 2023 Safety Award to 23 Brunswick County government departments and divisions. Award recipients include:

Gold Award – First Year

  • Community Enforcement – Division of Planning
  • Detention Center – Division of Sheriff’s Office
  • Emergency Management – Division of Emergency Services
  • Planning
  • Water Resources – Division of Public Utilities

Gold Award – Second Year

  • 9-1-1 Communications – Division of Sheriff’s Office
  • Administration
  • Animal Protective Services – Division of Sheriff’s Office
  • Board of Elections – Quasi County Government Office
  • Code Administration
  • County Attorney’s Office (Legal)
  • Engineering
  • Environmental Health – Division of Health Services
  • Finance
  • Fire Inspections – Division of Code Administration
  • Information Technology (IT/MIS)
  • Library
  • Register of Deeds
  • Social Services
  • Soil and Water Conservation District – Quasi County Government Office
  • Solid Waste – Division of Operation Services
  • Tax Office
  • Veterans Services

“We are honored that our safety efforts have been recognized for a second year,” Risk Manager Andy Yoos said. “Ensuring a safe work environment for our team members is Brunswick County’s top priority, and we are all proud to serve an organization that values employee safety.”

NCDOL’s Safety Awards Program honors agencies and organizations that achieve and maintain a healthy workplace and excellent safety records. To qualify for an annual safety award, an organization must:

  • Have no fatalities during the calendar year at the site or location for which the award was given; and
  • Have maintained an incidence rate at least 50 percent below the average for its particular industry group.

There are two Safety Award levels in the program: gold and silver. The Gold Award is based on the DART rate, which includes cases of days away from work, restricted activity, or job transfer due to on-the-job injury or illness. The Silver Award is based only on cases with days away from work. They are recorded when the worker misses at least one full day of work, not including the day of the injury or illness.

“Our employees are our greatest asset,” County Manager Steve Stone said. “Our Risk Management team is constantly searching for ways to eliminate or reduce the risk of injury or loss of the County’s employees and resources. We are thankful for the North Carolina Department of Labor’s recognition of our safety efforts.”

About NC Department of Labor’s Safety Awards Program

N.C. Department of Labor’s Safety Awards Program is administered through its Education, Training and Technical Assistance Bureau of the Occupational Safety and Health Division. The program recognizes private and public firms throughout the state that achieve and maintain good safety records. This program is designed to stimulate interest in accident prevention and to promote safety in the workplace by providing an incentive to employers and employees to maintain a safe and healthy workplace.

In operation since 1946, the Safety Awards Program now extends to more than 5,000 firms, and about 3,000 awards are presented annually. For more information regarding the Safety Awards Program or the application process, call 919-707-7855 or email the NCDOL Safety Awards Coordinator at


Media Inquiries

For media inquiries, contact the Communications Director at 910.253.2995 or email