Eight Hour About Boating Safely Class meets N.C. State Requirements February 1, 2020
On Saturday, February 1, 2020 the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary will provide a special one-day boating course that satisfies all state requirements.
Any person born on or after January 1, 1988, must complete an approved boating safety course before operating a vessel with a motor of 10 hp or greater on North Carolina waters. Even if not required by law to get the North Carolina boating license, many boaters take the boat safety course to save on their boat insurance.
Individuals who successfully complete the USCG Auxiliary “About Boating Safely” (ABS) course and exam are awarded U.S. Coast Guard certificates and cards.
Taught by certified USCG Auxiliary instructors, the USCG ABS course applies to all recreational watercraft including powerboats, PWCs, sailboats and paddle craft.
The course covers general information about boats and maintenance, preparing for safe and enjoyable outings, navigation rules and aids to navigation, guidelines for operating your boat or PWC safely, what to do in case of boating emergencies, and state-specific laws and regulations you must follow.
The Course will be taught at the Boiling Spring Lakes Community Center, 1 Leeds Road, Boiling Spring Lakes, NC from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm on Saturday, February 1, 2020. Course fee is $35.00 per person or $30.00 for two or more attendees. You may pay by cash or check at the door, or PayPal on the Flotilla’s website.
Additional information is also posted on the Flotilla’s Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/Flotilla10.05/?ref=aymt_homepage_panel
To register, contact Dawn Smith at BoatingSafely@ec.rr.com, or go to www.Flotilla10-05.org and click on Boating Courses > About Boating Safely.