In an effort to combat roadside litter in Brunswick County, Keep Brunswick County Beautiful along with the Brunswick County Sheriff’s Office is utilizing a new tool for reporting and/or volunteering. If you would like to report and/or volunteer, please click here.
The NC Department of Transportation has several programs where individuals, businesses, and organizations can get involved with the removal of litter from the roadsides. These programs include:
Requirements include litter cleanups at least four times each year on a two mile stretch of roadway for at least four years. The NC Department of Transportation installs two Adopt-A-Highway signs, with a recognition panel, on the stretch of road. They will also provide training and supplies needed for the cleanups. Crews will also collect the bags that are supplied once reported. For more information, please contact the NC Department of Transportation’s Litter Management Program at (910) 259-4919. You can also visit their website at Applying to Adopt-A-Highway .
The last two weeks of April and September are dedicated to litter cleanups in North Carolina. The NC Department of Transportation provides supplies to individuals and/or organizations willing to partake in the cleanup. Crews will also collect the bags that are supplied once reported. For more information, please contact the NC Department of Transportation’s Litter Management Program at (910) 259-4919. You can also visit their website at Litter Sweep .
Local individuals, businesses, and organizations can sponsor litter removal from the roadsides. The North Carolina Department of Transportation will post a sign with an acknowledgement panel to identify the sponsor. Anyone interested in becoming a sponsor, should contact one of these private companies for more information or by visiting Sponsor-A-Highway.
Adopt-A-Highway Litter Removal Service of America, Inc.
4407 Manchester Ave.
Encinitas, CA 92024
Adopt A Highway Maintenance Corp.
3158 Red Hill Ave.
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
The Swat-A-Litterbug Program allows the public to report any littering that they witness. The public can report the littering by calling (877) 368-4968 or by visiting Swat-A-Litterbug.
The NC Department of Transportation will send a formal notification, signed by the NC State Highway Patrol, informing the registered owner of the vehicle of the littering offense, the penalties of littering and urges them to help keep North Carolina clean.
North Carolina Anti-Littering Law
The North Carolina anti-littering law states that individuals can be fined and face community service for intentionally or unintentionally littering. Intentional littering of 15 pounds or less is a Class 3 misdemeanor punishable by a fine of $250 to $1,000 and up to 24 hours of community service. Unintentional littering of 15 pounds or less is an infraction punishable by a fine of up to $100 and up to 12 hours of community service.