The Brunswick County Collector is solely responsible for the collection of all current and delinquent county taxes, Occupancy Taxes, Beer and Wine Licenses, assessments and fees. The collections division also handles Tax Certifications and Mobile Home Moving Permits, provides information to mortgage companies and attorneys, and helps with general questions.

Brunswick County is also responsible for collection of taxes some municipalities, including Navassa, St. James, Sandy Creek, Varnamtown, Belville, Boiling Spring Lakes, Bolivia, Carolina Shores, Leland, Northwest, Shallotte, Sunset Beach, Bald Head Island, Caswell Beach, Southport and Calabash. Taxpayers in these areas will receive one combined bill for the county and city.

We do not collect for the towns of Holden Beach, Oak Island or Ocean Isle Beach.

Real and personal property tax bills are usually mailed in July/August. These bills are due September 1 and property owners are given until January 5 to pay without interest or penalties.

View Tax Foreclosures.

Remedies for Delinquent Taxes

Enforced collections begin when bills become delinquent. Collection remedies include garnishment of wages, attachment of bank accounts, attachment of any monies due (rents, proceeds, and escheats), attachment of state refunds, seizure and sale of personal property and foreclosure of real property. Fees will apply and we are not limited.

Advertisement of Tax Liens

North Carolina General Statute 105-369 requires that the Brunswick County Tax Department advertise unpaid real estate accounts between March 1 and June 30. Fees will apply.